Jan 14, 2015


VEDIC THEORY OF CREATION is based on a philosophy. Samkhya is the philosophy on which the theory of existence is based and it recognizes twenty four cosmic principles, which are called the Tattvas.


The first cosmic principle is Prakriti which is the basic substance of the Universe. It is unconscious, unintelligent and inert, but it possesses the potential for manifestation. This potential has three qualities the quality of purity & balance (Sattva) potential for action (Rajas) and the quality of inertia or resistance to action (Tamas). Prakriti is the first cause of the universe and accounts for whatever is physical which is matter and energy. This is the same as Einsteins theory of e=mc squared which says that energy and matter are the same thing and are interchangeable.


The second principle is Purusha which is consciousness. Purusha is the manifestor or the intelligence principle. It is Pure, independent and free. Purusha is neither produced nor does it produce: it just is. In the first stage of creation Prakriti and Purusha merge together and Prakriti manifests and begins to evolve into primal nature from which all physical bodies derive. Theories of phyicists such as Einstein recognize the creation of matter, but not the factor of intelligence or consciousness. Steven Hawkins explanation of the creation of the Universe in the big-bang theory similar buthe doesn’t recognize intelligence behind it. In Samkyha philosophy there has to be a union of Prakriti and Purusha for the manifestation of matter.



The first product of evolution from Prakriti comes from its characteristic of purity is the 3rd principle of creation which is cosmic intelligence or Mahat which literally means “the great” It is the principle behind life or the law of nature. It can be described as the seed of all things or the creator.


The 4th principle is Ahamkara or ego and is the second product of evolution. The Ego in this sense this is not the same as our general understanding of ego. In this context ego is responsible for the sense of self in all living things or the sense of identification with the outer world.


The 5th principle is that of the Mind or Manas which evolves from the pure aspect of ego. The ego has to have an instrument through which it can work so it automatically projects the mind. Therefore mind has to exist in everything in order to have its own identification. The word man in English originates from this word Manas or mind.  



The next five principles are the product of cosmic intelligence and ego and are the five sense objects of sound, touch, sight, taste and smell. These are the subtle forms of the five elements and each has the characteristics of purity, action and inertia. These Become grosser & grosser and evolve in to thefive sense organs ears, skin, eyes, tongue and nose which come from the pure aspect of the ego. The sense organs are the instruments for experiences of the mind.


Further evolution brings the five organs of action or the motor organs. The mouth (organ of expression) the hands (organs of touch) feet (organs of motion) reproductive organs and organs for elimination. The motor organs evolve from the action aspect of the ego. From the inertia aspect of ego five substances evolve. They are called Pancha, meaning five, Mahubutas meaning elements. These are ether, air, fire, water and earth and are the physical aspects of the universe.

According To Ayurveda & Yoga - Ann Holaday


No Comments
Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

According to Ayurveda & Yoga

© 2018 Atay All rights reserved. Powered by THE PHINIX GROUP