Jan 27, 2015



The first pillar is the doshas. The closest English translation of this Sanskrit word  is constitution, but that doesn’t describe the real meaning of dosha adequately. Doshas are the forces of the 5 elements behind the physical and psychological function of the body. The literal meaning of the word dosha is to spoil or that which causes things to decay, so what it really is the doshas are the cause of disease.


The second pillar of health is the Dhatus or tissues. This is a sanskrit word and there are seven described in ayurveda. 

The third pillar of health is Malas - waste products. The waste products from food are urine sweat and stool. Waste products are essential to the healthy functioning of the body. There are also waste produced at the level of the seven tissues in the transformation of each tissue to form the next. The transformation of tissues is explained in the Agni blog.


Stool - Gives strength, energy and stamina to the body if elimination of stool isn’t correct. There will be back, arthritis can develop, paralysis, bronchitis, skin diseases and asthma. Diarrhea, however, is a much more serious condition than constipation because the absorption of nutrients and water takes place in the colon. It will result in dehydration which can end up in coma. 

Urine should be passed 5-7 times a day in a healthy body, excess is considered a disease. 

Sweating is a means of eliminating waste products and essential to good health. It is the body’s way of maintaining temperature, if there is excess sweating there will be a foul smell and body irritation. If sweating is diminished there will be stiffness, cracking of the skin and falling hair. 

Proper elimination of all waste products is essential to good health and diseases occur in all parts of the body if elimination is not complete. In a healthy constitution each of these pillars has to be functioning properly and be in equilibrium or balance for good health.  

In modern medicine anatomy and physiology (study of normal function) are divided into systems of function. The respiratory system, digestive system, nervous system,  muscular and skeletal system, endocrine system, lymphatic system, reproductive system and sensory organs.  Ayurveda has an entirely different method of describing anatomy and physiology, this has to be learnt at an academic level in order to practice ayurveda. The body is described in types of tissue, boney tissue, blood tissue and these are the dahtus. Strotas are channels which carry substances around the body and to organs, arteries carrying blood for instance. 


The digestive fire (Agni) is strongly emphasized because if the transformation process of changing food into nutrients, if it isn’t working properly then the body will not function efficiently. Ayurveda recognizes the build up of toxins from diet, lifestyle and functioning of the body this is called AMA The key of course is the force and qualities of the 5 elements which give the body its characteristics and enable it to function and it is the malfunction these energies which cause disease.

The word disease, is two syllables DIS meaning abnormal and EASE meaning at the proper level. Disease is anything which deviates from the normal or proper level. In ayurveda any imbalance in the four pillars is considered disease. For example obesity or a common cold which aren’t considered disease in modern medicine, the term is only use for more serious complaints like cancer.  


According To Ayurveda & Yoga - Ann Holaday

No Comments
Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

According to Ayurveda & Yoga

© 2018 Atay All rights reserved. Powered by THE PHINIX GROUP