Feb 14, 2015


NADIS - CARRIERS OF PRANA - The Nadis bring energy to nerves, lymphatics, arteries & veins, but they are not physical structures they are the carriers of pranic energy which is not only the gross energy of the physical body, but that of the subtle body being the mind, feelings and emotions. 

The flow of energy is like an electric current, there is a positive and negative force and a neutral force. 

Sushumna is the neutral force and it corresponds to the center of the spine. It is sattvic in nature and related the subtle dosha of fire (Tejas).  

Pingala is the positive force and runs along the right side of sushumna, terminating at the right nostril, crossing to the left brain or our masculine side. Pingala operates during the day and is heating energy like the sun, is rajastic in nature and promotes activity. It governs reasoning powers, analysis, perception and discrimination. 

Ida is the negative force and on the left side of sushumna, terminating at the left nostril. It’s energy then crosses to the right brain or feminine side at the third eye. Ida operates at night and gives sleep, it is the lunar or cooling energy and tamasic in nature. It governs emotions, feelings, love and attachment.

There are 72,000 nadis in the body and they come close to the surface at energy points which are marma points in ayurveda and are described in acupuncture and acupressure. 

Alternate nostril breathing balances the flow of energy through the nadis, a balanced flow of prana is the key to good health. 

Nadis can become deranged by wrong attitudes, negative emotions, egoism and bad mental digestion. Balancing nadis is like balancing the doshas, it takes time, patience, a sattvic diet and lifestyle. 

The Chakras There are Seven Chakras of the Subtle Body which are the ENERGY CENTERS OF TRANSFORMATION

Mooladhara or root chakra, the earth element which rules the sense of smell. At a physical level it relates to the excretory system and adrenals and psychologically it Is the site of ignorance and fear.

Svadhistan or sex centre, the water element rules the sense of taste. It relates to the urinary system, elimination and the endocrine systems of men and women. Psychologically it is the site of desire.  

Manipur is the navel centre, its element is fire and it rules the sense of sight. Physically it relates to the pancreas. On a psychological level it relates to ego and will.

Anahat Heart chakra has the element air and rules the sense of touch. Physically it relates to the heart and circulation, and works through the thymus gland.  On a psychological level it is the site of devotion.

Vishuddhi or throat centre is the element ether. On a physical level it relates to the throat, larynx and respiratory system and works through the thyroid gland. Psychologically it is the source of inspiration. 

Ajna or eyebrow centre or third eye, commands the other charkras. It rules the mind. Physically it governs the involuntary nervous system and works through the pituitary and is the site of the embodied soul 

Sahasrara it is the site of the true self, the source-guide of all the energies…the essence of life.  Physically it governs the voluntary nervous system and functions through the (pineal gland) on a psychological level it is the site of the supreme Self.

Kundalini is the serpent power, the dormant, potential force in the root chakra. It is a reference point not a physical structure. Kundalini is like the battery storage of electricity and has unknown inner power. When the energies in sushumna Ida and Pingala are balanced  they merge in the eyebrow centre and the dormant power of kundalini is awakened. Prana enters sushumna and travels up the spine to establish itself in the crown chakra, this is called a “kundalini rising” and ascends to higher realms of consciousness.

Through yogic practices, diet and lifestyle the kundalini can be awakened but it can be very dangerous to do these practices without proper knowledge, understanding and the supervision of a guru. There can be serious risks involved from a mere headache to mental illness. 

Koshas There are five psychic sheaths or koshas which surround the subtle bodies. These are the food sheath, ananmaya kosher which encompasses the physical and subtle bodies, the breath sheath, pranamaya kosher the emotional sheath, the intelligence sheath vijvrandamaya kosher and the bliss sheath anandamaya kosher which is the depth of our being or soul. The goal of Ayurveda is to bring harmony to the sheaths realizing that imbalances in the inner sheaths are caused by dysfunction in the outer sheaths in much the same way as disease in subtle tissues is caused by dysfunction of grosser tissue. 

A basic human desire is to reside in a place of peace and contentment. The effect of drugs and alcohol make us feel we are in this place of bliss. The first drink makes us release our inhibitions, we feel our true nature coming through and we feel happy. Mind altering drugs do the same thing and take us to another level of consciousness. But these artificial methods are illusion. We can only rest in bliss in a deep sleep or in meditation. Sleep happens naturally we don’t have to force it and the same with meditation. If all the sheaths are pure and functioning, a deep meditation is normal and we can reach higher levels of consciousness. This is reality not illusion. 

Videos in Ayurveda & Yoga in the Spirituality Program Page - Energy Centres of Transformation Chakras, Kundalini, Koshas


The Chakras are the centres of transformation and the koshas are subtle energy fields. The Kundalini is the dormant pranic energy stored in the root chakra. View more videos at According to Ayurveda & Yoga:  Ayurveda & Yoga Spiritual Page

Questionnaire on the Spiirituality page Determining the Qualities of the Mind Sattva Rajas Tamas


In order to reach a higher state of awareness, the mind must have a predominantly sattvic quality, that is purity of body and mind. Unlike prakriti (true nature) of body and mind the gunas can be changed through diet and lifestyle. By gaining control of rajas, the tendency towards action, tamas the tendency towards inertia the mind will become more sattvic. More videos & blogs at According To Ayurveda & Yoga - Spirituality Page


According To Ayurveda & Yoga - Ann Holaday




No Comments
Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

According to Ayurveda & Yoga

© 2018 Atay All rights reserved. Powered by THE PHINIX GROUP