There are twenty seven videos in this series which gives the student a basic overview of the principles of Ayurveda and Yoga. Ayurveda and Yoga are based on the principle of the five elements therefore this series starts at the very beginning by explaining the Vedic view of evolution of the five elements. The series is a systematic approach to this basic knowledge so it is important to view the videos in order starting at lecture number 1. Each video builds on the knowledge of the previous, so please don’t be tempted to watch just the videos in which you are interested.

Introduction to Ayurveda and Yoga Lecture Series - Lecture 1

Aneesha Holaday, an ayurvedic practitioner introduces herself to the audience and gives a brief explanation of the origins of Ayurveda and Yoga.

Evolution of the Five Elements - Lecture 2

Sankhya philosophy explains evolution of matter from the merging of Prakriti (base substance) and Purusha (consciousness) to the five elements (pancha mahubutas).

Qualities (GUNAS) of the Five Elements - Lecture 3

The qualities or GUNAS of the five elements Ether, Air, Fire, Water and Earth are explained in detail.

States of the Doshas - Lecture 4

The Doshas are in two states Prakriti or true nature and Vikriti present state and aggravated state which are determined on examination

Doshas: Vata Pitta Kapha - Lecture 5

Everybody has a unique combination of the five elements in the body which are called “Doshas"

Characteristics of the Doshas (Prakriti) - Lecture 6

The doshas manifest as physical characteristic which are governed by the qualities or GUNAS.

Aggravation of the Doshas (Vikriti) - Lecture 7

Doshas are aggravated and vary because of the environment, diet, lifestyle and age.

What is the Mind? - Lecture 8

An introduction to the complex nature of the mind.

Functions of the Mind - Lecture 9

In order to control the mind so that it does not control us, it is important to understand it’s functions.

Levels of the Mind - Senses & Manas - Lecture 10

The “Mind or Manas" is the bridge between the outside world and the inner self with information coming in through the senses and it is through the senses that we connect to the five elements.

Levels of the Mind - Self Conscious & Conscious Mind - Lecture 11

The “Ego” gives us our identity but can be a problem for us if we allow it to control us. The “Conscious mind” is our intelligence and when directed inward brings love, peace and compassion

Levels of the Mind - Sub-Conscious: Impressions: Soul: - Lecture 12

Memories are stored in the “Sub-Conscious Mind or Chitta”, impressions or “Samskaras” are made on the Chitta and the “Soul or JIVA “is the real SELF.

Subtle Energies of the Mind - Prana: Tejas: Ojas: - Lecture 13

The subtle energies of Vata (Prana), Pitta (Tejas) and Kapha (Ojas) govern the positive aspects of health and vitality.

GUNAS - Qualities of the Mind - Sattva: Rajas: Tamas: - Lecture 14

The qualities of the five elements influence the mind, these are the GUNAS, Sattva (quality of purity and contentment) Rajas (quality of action and change) and Tamas (quality of inertia and dullness).

Life Force and Energy Channels - Prana: Nadis: - Lecture 15

Prana is the life force brought into the body through the breath. Pranic energy is carried throughout the body by the nadis. There are three main nadis and 72,000 minor channels in the body.

Energy Centres & Fields of Transformation - Lecture 16

The Chakras are the centres of transformation and the koshas are subtle energy fields. The Kundalini is the dormant pranic energy stored in the root chakra.

Yoga means to Unite - Lecture 17

Yoga is much more than the practice of postures. It connects the body and mind on a deep level and brings peace and awareness.

Traditional Yoga Practices - Lecture 18

Four Yogas are described “Bhakti Yoga” yoga of devotion, “Jnana Yoga “ yoga of knowledge, “Karma Yoga” yoga of action, “Hatha Yoga” physical & psychological yoga, Common practice today is a combination of all four “Integral Yoga”

Eight Limbs of Yoga - Outer Yoga - Lecture 19

The first four of the eight limbs of yoga details the practice of outer yoga, “Nyamas” (rules of personal conduct) “Yamas” (rules of social conduct) “Asana” (postures) “Pranayama” (yogic breathing).

Eight Limbs of Yoga - Inner Yoga - Lecture 20

The last four of the eight limbs of yoga details the practice of inner yoga, “Pratyahara” (withdrawal of the senses) “Dharana” (concentration) “Dhyana” (meditation) “Samadhi” (absorption).

Digestion - Lecture 21

Ayurveda stresses the importance of good digestion. If the digestion is not right then the whole system is affected and eventually disease will develop.

Six Tastes - Lecture 22

The five elements are in food. In Ayurveda it is important to balance the six tastes in the diet by balancing the five elements.

Ayurveda Dietary Guidelines - Lecture 23

Ayurveda stresses the importance of conscious eating, not only for good health but for for the ethical treatment of animals and farming practices.

Dietary Guidelines for Doshas - Lecture 24

The doshas can be aggravated by the tastes so it is important to know what tastes to minimize when pacifying a dosha.

Ayurvedic Health Tips - Lecture 25

Common ailments can be prevented and treated with ayurveda and yoga when practiced routinely, sleep is a very important aspect to good health.

Managing Stress - Lecture 26

Six of the leading causes of death are related to stress. We cannot always avoid stress but we can change the way we deal with it. Ayurveda and Yoga have simple guidelines for managing stress.

Latest Comments
Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

According to Ayurveda & Yoga

© 2018 Atay All rights reserved. Powered by THE PHINIX GROUP